• News

Railway Age 2024 Readers’ Influential Leaders

Written by Railway Age Staff
Ed Boyle, Vice President Engineering, Norfolk Southern (NS Photograph)

Ed Boyle, Vice President Engineering, Norfolk Southern (NS Photograph)

Railway Age is pleased to present the fifth-annual “Readers’ Influential Leaders” program honorees.

Through an online poll, Railway Age subscribers nominated a large group of active (non-retired) individuals from the North American freight, switching/terminal and passenger railroad; rail transit; government agency; and supplier communities.

Following are the top 10 individuals who readers believe to be most influential in 2024 and who embody an entrepreneurial spirit anchored in a commitment to service, safety, and sustainability. Additionally, three leaders were selected for honorable mention; they, too, are listed below. Profiles will appear in Railway Age’s May 2024 issue. Congratulations, all!

Pictured, Left to Right: Casey Albright, CSX (CSX Photograph); Ed Boyle, Norfolk Southern (NS Photograph); Percy Fields, The Belt Railway Company of Chicago (The Belt Railway Company of Chicago Photograph); Alan Fisher, Wabtec Digital Intelligence (Wabtec Photograph); and Matt Garland, BNSF (BNSF Photograph).


(in alphabetical order)

  1. Casey Albright, Senior Vice President, Network Operations and Service Design, CSX
  2. Ed Boyle, Vice President Engineering, Norfolk Southern
  3. Percy Fields, President and General Manager, The Belt Railway Company of Chicago
  4. Alan Fisher, Group Vice President, Logistics, Analytics and Digital Mine, Wabtec Digital Intelligence
  5. Matt Garland, Vice President Transportation, BNSF
  6. Marco Loureiro, Chief Operating Office, RailPros
  7. Laura Mason, Executive Vice President Capital Delivery, Amtrak
  8. Justin Meyer, Senior Vice President Engineering and Mechanical, Canadian Pacific Kansas City
  9. Jim Vena, Chief Executive Officer, Union Pacific
  10. Phil Verster, President and Chief Executive Officer, Metrolinx
Pictured, Left to Right: Marco Loureiro, RailPros (RailPros Photograph); Laura Mason, Amtrak (Amtrak Photograph); Justin Meyer, Canadian Pacific Kansas City (CPKC Photograph); Jim Vena, Union Pacific (UP Photograph); and Phil Verster, Metrolinx (Metrolinx Photograph).

Honorable Mention

(in alphabetical order)

To find out the top 10 picks of Railway Age subscribers for the previous four years, read:

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,