• News

LRW ‘Member of the Year’ Nominations Open

Written by Marybeth Luczak, Executive Editor
image description

The League of Railway Women (LRW) for the 25th year will honor an “outstanding” member for her contributions to the league and to the railroad industry. Nominations are now open.

Since 1998, LRW has been presenting the annual Member of the Year Award to “an individual member or corporate partner who has contributed their time and talents to improving the organization’s mission.”

Among the award criteria:

  • A passion for the rail industry
  • A dedication to “leading and supporting the personal and professional growth of women in rail.”
  • A commitment to volunteering with the LRW and has volunteered for the past year.
  • Individual or corporate efforts to successfully recruit and retain members.
  • Commitment to community service.

Nominations are due Aug. 31.

The Member of the Year will be honored during the 2023 LRW Annual Conference at Railway Interchange, to be held Oct. 1-4, 2023 in Indianapolis.

Previous award recipients are:

For questions, contact Denise Williams, LRW Awards Chair, at [email protected].

In related news, join Sarah Yurasko, LRW President and ASLRRA Senior Vice President Law and General Counsel, at the 2023 Railway Age / RT&S Women in Rail conference, to be held Nov. 2 in Chicago, where she will co-moderate a session on ERGs (Employee Resource Groups). And don’t forget to nominate a deserving women leader for the 2023 Railway Age Women in Rail awards; nominations are due Sept. 29.

Tags: , ,