Pictured left to right: Jason Jewell, Managing Director, Los Angeles-San Diego-San Luis Obispo (LOSSAN) Rail Corridor Agency; Brian Riley, Chief Operating Officer of Rail, San Diego Metropolitan Transit System (MTS); and Jacqueline Peduzzi, Vice President and Business Unit Leader, STV.
  • News

People News: LOSSAN, San Diego MTS, STV, ASLRRA, WSP USA

Los Angeles-San Diego-San Luis Obispo (LOSSAN) Rail Corridor Agency appoints Jason Jewell as Managing Director. Also, San Diego Metropolitan Transit System (MTS) promotes Brian Riley to Chief Operating Officer of Rail; and engineering firm STV names Jacqueline Peduzzi Vice President and Business Unit Leader. Paul Howard “Howard” Croft Jr., former President of the American Short Line Railroad Association (now ASLRRA), has died. James “Jim” L. Lammie, former President, CEO and Non-Executive Chairman of Parsons Brinckerhoff (now WSP), died Nov. 9.

LRW President Sarah Yurasko (fourth from right) is joined by LRW leaders at the 2022 Annual Conference in Ft. Worth, Tex. (Photograph and Caption Courtesy of LRW)
  • News

LRW Announces 2022-23 Board

The League of Railway Women (LRW) last month appointed its 2022-23 Board of Directors at the annual conference, which was held in conjunction with the Railway Supply Institute’s (RSI) 2022 Expo and Technical Conference in Fort Worth, Tex.

MARTA General Manager and CEO Collie Greenwood (left); and Jack Dale Parliament (right), former D&I Railroad President and Small Railroad Committee Founder, who died Oct. 23.
  • News

People News

Metropolitan Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority (MARTA) confirms Collie Greenwood as General Manager and CEO. Also, Jack Dale Parliament, former D&I Railroad President and Small Railroad Committee Founder, has died. He was 66.

ASLRRA’s Mobile Technical Training Center (left) can bring two FRA Type II locomotive simulators and a six-station classroom to any location in the continental United States. (Photographs Courtesy of ASLRRA)


The American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association (ASLRRA) and Iowa Northern Railway (IANR) officially launch the Short Line Training Center. Also, ASLRRA makes staffing changes.

ASLRRA presented plaques to the winners of its Presidents Awards during the Association's Eastern and Southern Region Meeting in Atlanta, Ga., on Sept. 28. (Photo Courtesy of ASLRRA via Twitter)
  • News

Association Roundup: ASLRRA, APTA

The American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association (ASLRRA) recognizes safety winners at its Eastern and Southern Region Meeting. Also, the American Public Transportation Association (APTA) announces that public transportation ridership has risen to more than 70% of pre-pandemic levels.

Aerial view of the derailment scene.​​ (Photograph courtesy of Pike County Office of Emergency Management with overlay annotations by NTSB.)

NTSB: Loose Debris from Mudslide Probable Cause of CSX Derailment

The National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) recently determined that the probable cause of a February 13, 2020, derailment of CSX Transportation (CSX) train K42911 on a railroad track that runs between a hillside and the Russel Fork River in Draffin, Ky., was loose mud, vegetation, sand, soil and rock from a mudslide that obstructed the track following excessive rain accumulation over several weeks.


What’s the value of attending American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association (ASLRRA) regional meetings? ASLRRA Board Chair Stefan Loeb weighs in. Also, September is National Preparedness Month in the U.S., and the association is offering disaster preparedness tools for members.

WTS International President and CEO Sara M. Stickler (left) and Eno President and CEO Robert Puentes (right) sign a formal MOU on Sept. 8.
  • News

Association Briefs: WTS International, ASLRRA

The Women’s Transportation Seminar (WTS) International and the Eno Center for Transportation (Eno) sign memorandum of understanding (MOU). Also, from the American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association’s weekly Views & News: A Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) report discusses results of Onboard Broken Rail Detection (OBRD) system research; ASLRRA congratulates industry colleagues on their retirements; and registration opens for first ASLRRA training seminar in 2023.