CSX 2013 Chemical Safety Excellence Awards

Written by William C. Vantuono, Editor-in-Chief

CSX on April 2, 2014 announced the winners of its 20th annual Chemical Safety Excellence Award, “representing dozens of customers recognized by CSX for their commitment to safe transportation of hazardous materials by rail.”

Recipients represent a variety of industries such as energy, technology and agriculture. The 2013 winners:

Air Liquide America Corporation; AkzoNobel, Inc.; Archer Daniels Midland Company; Arizona Chemical Company; Arkema, Inc.; Ascend Performance Materials, Inc.; Ashta Chemicals; Aux Sable Liquid Products, LP; Axiall Corporation; BASF Corporation; Bunge Corporation; Cardinal Ethanol, LLC; Cargill; Celanese Corporation; Centennial Energy, LLC; Chevron Phillips Chemical Company, LLC; Chevron Products Company; CHS, Inc.; Cornerstone Chemical Company; DAK Americas; Dow Corning Corporation; E. I. DuPont de Nemours and Company; Eastman Chemical Company; EPIC; ERCO Worldwide; Evonik Corporation; ExxonMobil; Heritage Environmental Services, LLC; Hess Corporation; High Sierra Crude Oil & Marketing; Honeywell International, Inc.; Horsehead Corporation; Husky Marketing & Supply Company; International Chemical Company; Invista; Irving Oil; Kemira Water Solutions; Keyera Partnership; Lanxess Corporation; Linde, Inc.; Lyondell; MarkWest Hydrocarbon; Mercuria Energy Group, Ltd.; Methanex Corporation; MHF Services; Moose Jaw Asphalt, Inc.; The Mosaic Company; Musket Corporation; NGL Supply Company, LTD; Norflaco Sales, Inc.; Nucor Corporation; Occidental Chemical Corporation; Olin ChlorAlkali; Oxbow Sulphur, Inc.; PBF Energy Company; Philadelphia Energy Solutions; Plains All American Pipeline; POET Biorefining; PVS Chemicals, Inc.; Reagent Chemical; Sabic Americas, Inc.; Shintech; Southern States Chemical, Inc.; Statoil North America; Styrolution America, LLC; Taminco U.S., Inc.; Targa Resources, Inc.; U.S. Government; United Refining Company; Valero; and Westlake Chemical.

For more than 20 years, CSX has recognized customers who lead the industry in chemical safety. The Chemical Safety Excellence Awards are presented to customers who ship more than 600 carloads of hazardous materials during the year without a release due to factors such as not securing valves or closures properly.

“This year’s award winners share in CSX’s dedication to the safe and secure transportation of chemical products,” said CSX Chairman, President and CEO Michael J. Ward. “Safety is a core value at CSX, and we are immensely proud to partner with this year’s winners to uphold the highest standards in chemical safety. CSX and our customers work together to ensure that hazardous materials move in the safest equipment and employees are trained on safe loading and handling procedures. More than half of the 2013 recipients are repeat winners, demonstrating their lasting partnerships with CSX and continued dedication to safety by shipping via rail.”

Ward and other CSX leaders, joined by Association of American Railroads President and CEO Edward R. Hamberger, recognized the award winners at Washington, D.C.’s Union Station. Ward and other speakers thanked the customers for their safety efforts and business, and provided updates on industry trends, challenges, and opportunities.

More information on the award, along with a list of recent recipients, can be found online at http://www.csx.com/index.cfm/customers/safety-security/chemical-safety-excellence-award/.

Tags: , , ,