Canadian Supply Chain Task Force Chairs Selected

Written by William C. Vantuono, Editor-in-Chief
image description

“An efficient and reliable transportation network is key to Canada's economic growth. Further to the dialogue that has already started, an important next step to further advance our work is the appointment of Mr. Gattuso and Ms. Yako as co-chairs of the Task Force, as they will continue the discussion with industry experts to find solutions to ensure our supply chain remains efficient. I am very pleased that they agreed to lead this expert advisory panel. Their experience in commerce and transportation will be great assets.” – Omar Alghabra, Minister of Transport

During Canada’s National Supply Chain Summit in January, Minister of Transport Omar Alghabra announced that a National Supply Chain Task Force would be created “to consult broadly with industry, associations and experts to examine the key pressures and make recommendations regarding short and long-term actions to strengthen the efficiency, fluidity and resiliency of transportation infrastructure and reliability of Canada’s supply chain.” On March 28, co-chairs were named: Jean Gattuso and Louise Yako.

Jean Gattuso began his career at Lassonde Industries Inc. as Director of Marketing for the A. Lassonde Inc. subsidiary in 1987, and has served in numerous senior executive positions. He was appointed as Chief Operating Officer of Lassonde Industries Inc. in 2009, then president in 2012. He also co-founded the Conseil de la transformation alimentaire du Québec (CTAQ). Gattuso is a current member of the Board of Directors of Investissement Québec and Groupe Colabor Inc., and a former member of the Board of Directors of Food, Health and Consumer Products Canada, among several former board memberships. He has a Master of Business Administration from the Université du Québec à Montréal and a Bachelor of Commerce from McGill University.

Louise Yako is the former President and CEO of the B.C. Trucking Association, a non-profit advocacy organization representing about 1,200 companies in British Columbia. She has leadership experience in public policy, association management, human resources development, and safety programs. Yako is currently serving as Chair of the Vancouver Fraser Port Authority’s Active Vessel Traffic Management Advisory Panel. She has a Master of Business Administration from University of British Columbia and a combined Bachelor of Journalism with Political Science from Carleton University.


On Dec. 9, 2021, the Government of Canada launched a call for proposals under the National Trade Corridors Fund (NTCF), which funds projects “that improve the flow of goods and people in Canada as well as increase the flow of trade in and out of Canada. A series of regional and industry sessions to followed the National Supply Chain Summit “to continue the dialogue,” Alghabra said. “More regional roundtables are expected. Canadian manufacturers are particularly vulnerable to disruptions of global supply chains, as they rely on foreign suppliers for importing crucial inputs and on foreign markets for selling their products. Marine ports are important supply chain hubs in Canada, handling a diversified range of cargo and connecting coast lines to inland markets where goods are shipped by railways and trucks. Canada also supports the integrated nature of the global supply chains and food security systems.”

Tags: , ,