(Amtrak Photograph)

APTA to Congress: Support THUD Appropriations Act

House and Senate Appropriations Committee leaders on March 3 released the final, bipartisan THUD Appropriations Act (Transportation, Housing and Urban Development, and Related Agencies Appropriations Act, 2024) (H.R. 4366, Division F) as

House Appropriations Committee OKs FY22 THUD Bill

The House Appropriations Committee on July 16 approved the Fiscal Year 2022 Transportation, and Housing and Urban Development, and Related Agencies (THUD) funding bill of $84.1 billion, a more than 11% boost over 2021.

Another Step Closer to North Carolina/Virginia HrSR

A $47.55 million grant has been awarded to the North Carolina Department of Transportation for the purchase of CSX’s S-Line rail corridor from Raleigh to Ridgeway, N.C., near the Virginia state line, which will eventually contribute to higher-speed rail (HrSR) service to the Southeast.

FRA launches redesigned public-safety website

The Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) on March 17, 2016 launched a redesigned website described as “a one-stop shop to help drivers, pedestrians, and law enforcement stay safe around the nation’s more than 200,000 railroad crossings and 140,000 miles of track.” Railroad Crossing Safety & Trespass Prevention is “part of the agency’s ongoing campaign to reduce fatalities at railroad crossings and tracks to zero by building partnerships that increase education, step up enforcement and leverage engineering.”

FRA to Congress: Most railroads will miss PTC deadline

The Federal Railroad Administration sent its Status of Positive Train Control Implementation report to Congress showing that after seven years and significant assistance from FRA, most railroads will miss the December 31, 2015 positive train control (PTC) implementation deadline that Congress established in 2008. The report, which was mandated by the House of Representatives Appropriations Committee, was sent to Congress on August 7.

  • News

WTS International creates Secretary Ray LaHood Award

WTS International, the association for the advancement of women in transportation, has announced that they are adding a sixth award to its roster of annual award opportunities that are recognized throughout the transportation industry: The WTS Secretary Ray LaHood Award, which will be awarded to a man each year.