• News

AASHTO Elects 2023-24 Leaders

Written by Marybeth Luczak, Executive Editor
Craig Thompson, AASHTO President (2023-24) and Wisconsin DOT Secretary (left), and Garrett Eucalitto, AASHTO Vice President (2023-24) and Connecticut DOT Commissioner.

Craig Thompson, AASHTO President (2023-24) and Wisconsin DOT Secretary (left), and Garrett Eucalitto, AASHTO Vice President (2023-24) and Connecticut DOT Commissioner.

Wisconsin Department of Transportation Secretary Craig Thompson and Connecticut Department of Transportation Commissioner Garrett Eucalitto have been elected as 2023-24 President and Vice President, respectively, of the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO).

Thompson succeeds Washington State Department of Transportation Secretary Roger Millar as leader of AASHTO, a nonprofit, nonpartisan association that represents departments of transportation in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico. He served previously as the association’s Vice President (2022-23).

As President, Thompson is slated to focus on three priorities:

  1. Realizing the promise of the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA): “As we reach the mid-point of the five-year authorization of the IIJA, it is imperative that state DOTs work with federal partners to ensure that the promise of IIJA is fully realized,” according to Thompson. “AASHTO and state DOTs need to demonstrate to all communities that government at all levels can work efficiently to apply these historic investments in a way that will positively impact their lives.”
  2. Bolstering safety: Thompson will build upon the safety initiatives of Immediate Past President Millar “to ensure that state DOTs continue to make progress.” Providing all users with safe multi-modal transportation options is the “foremost priority,” according to Thompson.
  3. Reinvigorating the workforce: “As demographic trends continue to place significant strains on the labor pool across all sectors of the U.S. economy, state DOTs are seeking new ways to attract and maintain robust talent,” according to Thompson, who noted that he will collaborate with state DOTs “to establish effective practices for building a transportation workforce that meets the needs of today and tomorrow.”

As Vice President, Eucalitto will be a member of the AASHTO Executive Committee and Chair the AASHTO Transportation Policy Forum, which discusses and recommends legislative, regulatory and other policy matters to the Board. He will also Chair the association’s Strategic Management Committee, which focuses on identifying and addressing issues and concerns and developing action plans.

“As transportation needs continue to evolve, I am honored to serve as AASHTO’s president as we navigate the future together,” Thompson said. “This is a very exciting and challenging time for transportation, but I see great opportunity for those of us in the industry to make a real impact for our communities.”

“One of my top priorities is to ensure the safety of all roadway users is reflected in every project,” Eucalitto said. “Safety remains a guiding principle, whether here in Connecticut or communities around the country. I thank the [AASHTO] Board of Directors for their confidence and am grateful to serve as Vice President. I look forward to working with Secretary Thompson and state DOTs nationwide.”

“We are ecstatic to welcome incoming AASHTO President Thompson and Vice President Eucalitto as they step into important leadership roles within our organization,” AASHTO Executive Director Jim Tymon said. “These accomplished leaders bring a wealth of knowledge that will benefit state DOTs across the nation and help AASHTO deliver safety, mobility and access for everyone.”

Tags: , ,