

December 8, 2020

The Honorable Mike DeWine 77 South High Street 30th Floor Columbus, OH 43215

Dear Governor DeWine,

On behalf of the American Public Transportation Association (APTA), our 1,500 member organizations and the tens of millions of public transportation riders, I want to thank you for your extraordinary efforts to help contain the spread of COVID-19 and keep residents healthy and safe.

We are heartened by the progress on the development and deployment of the COVID-19 vaccine. We urge you to designate public transportation workers as essential employees in your state's public health plan and give them high priority in your vaccine distribution efforts.

Since the early days of the pandemic, public transportation has played a critical role in transporting essential frontline workers to their jobs in health care, education, utilities and retail for food and critical supplies. Our public transit employees have been heroes moving heroes. Public transit service will be even more critical to the recovery of local, state and national economies.

At the national level, we are pleased that the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices, which is advising the Centers for Disease Control, proposed that essential workers (including transportation workers) be included in the second priority group after health care workers.

In addition, public transit workers providing critical transit services and performing critical or routine maintenance have been designated by the Department of Homeland Security's Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (DHS/CISA) as Essential Critical Infrastructure Workers. Their performance of critical functions places them at higher risk of exposure to COVID-19 infection.

We want you to know that our industry stands ready to help in any way to facilitate the vaccine distribution, such as getting residents, including people with disabilities, to vaccination sites.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

CHAIR Nuria I. Fernandez

VICE CHAIR Jeffrey A. Nelson

SECRETARY-TREASURER
Freddie C. Fuller II

IMMEDIATE PAST CHAIR David M. Stackrow, Sr.

Dorval R. Carter, Jr. Francis "Buddy" Coleman Michael Goldman Kevin J. Holzendorf Karen H. King Michele Wong Krause Jeanne Krieg Thomas C. Lambert Adelee Marie Le Grand Richard J. Learv Henry Li Raymond J. Melleady Brad Miller Allan Pollock Leanne P. Redden Catherine Rinaldi William T. Thomsen Matthew O. Tucker Thomas Waldron **Eve Williams**

PRESIDENT AND CEO Paul P. Skoutelas

1300 I Street NW Suite 1200 East Washington, DC 20005 p: (202) 496-4800 f: (202) 496-4324 The Honorable Mike DeWine December 8, 2020 Page 2

Thank you for your attention and consideration of this urgent matter. If you have any questions, please contact APTA's Senior Director Security, Risk & Emergency Management, Ms. Polly Hanson, at <u>phanson@apta.com</u> or (202) 496-4895.

Sincerely,

Paul P. Shoutelos

Paul P. Skoutelas President and CEO