National Association of Manufacturers

“When a rail incident occurs, seconds count,” NS Vice President Safety John Fleps said. “Through our partnership with RapidSOS, 911 call centers and first responder agencies throughout our 22-state network will have faster access to the information they need to safeguard their response, save lives and protect the communities in which we operate.” (NS Photograph)

Class I Briefs: NS, CPKC, UP

Norfolk Southern (NS) and RapidSOS debut their rail safety platform for first responders. Also, Canadian Pacific Kansas City (CPKC) selects Rob Cikor as its Railroader of the Year; and Union Pacific’s (UP) Kenny Rocker joins the National Association of Manufacturers’ Board of Directors.

U.S. Secretary of Transportation Pete Buttigieg

Industry to USDOT: Use IIJA Funds to Address Supply Chain Issues

Nearly 60 transportation, manufacturing and construction industry groups are calling on U.S. Department of Transportation Secretary Pete Buttigieg to “dedicate as much as allowable by law in discretionary grants for FY 2022 to support projects that will facilitate and ease the movement of goods.”