Top First-Place winners will face a final round of judging to determine the Grand Awards, which will be presented at the APTA’s TRANSform Conference, October 9-12, 2022, in Seattle, Wash.

APTA Announces First-Place Winners of 2022 AdWheel Awards

The American Public Transportation Association (APTA) announced on July 19 the First-Place winners of its 2022 AdWheel Awards, which are awarded to APTA member systems and business members for “outstanding marketing and

Amtrak is addressing its engineering workforce management challenges. Amtrak photo by Mike Armstrong.

Passenger Rail Briefs: Amtrak, DART, Big Sky Passenger Rail Authority, SEPTA, L.A. Metro, SacRT

Amtrak addresses engineering management workforce challenges. Also, Dallas Area Rapid Transit’s (DART) holds Silver Line Community Meetings; Big Sky Passenger Rail gains the Montana Department of Transportation as partner; the Southeastern Pennsylvania

Reich will assume her new responsibilities as CFO on July 18.

DART Names Elizabeth Reich CFO

Dallas Area Rapid Transit (DART) on July 1 reported that Elizabeth Reich will join the agency as Chief Financial Officer (CFO), effective July 18. Reich, who has more than 20 years of

Mueller was sworn in June 29 as the sixth MTA Chief of Police

People News: NYMTA, OneRail Coalition, STV, HDR

The New York Metropolitan Transportation Authority (MTA) has appointed a new MTA Chief of Police. Also, OneRail Coalition announced winners of Canby Awards, STV welcomed new key leaders throughout Texas, and HDR

On May 23, Bernard Jackson will become COO of Dallas Area Rapid Transit.

DART Names Jackson COO

Bernard Jackson is leaving Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority (LACMTA) to join Dallas Area Rapid Transit (DART) as Chief Operations Officer, effective May 23.

Pictured (left to right): Jenny Barket, DART; William J. Duggan, RDC (ret.); Michael Scott Driggers, Stucki; and Michel Ladrak, BCRTC, an operating division of TransLink in metro Vancouver.

People News: DART, RDC, Stucki, TransLink

Dallas Area Rapid Transit (DART) appointed Jenny Barket as Chief of Staff. Also, Railroad Development Corporation (RDC) Vice President of Operations William J. Duggan retired; A. Stucki Company named Michael Scott Driggers Division President of Freight; and Michel Ladrak will step down as President and General Manager of British Columbia Rapid Transit Company (BCRTC), an operating division of TransLink.

Suarez Stepping Down as DCTA CEO

The Board of Directors for Denton County (Tex.) Transportation Authority reported on March 7 that it had accepted the resignation of CEO Raymond Suarez. When Suarez steps down on March 31, DCTA Deputy Paul Cristina will serve as interim CEO.

DART ‘One Stop Shop’ For Voters

As it has done for many years, Dallas Area Rapid Transit is providing free transportation for registered voters to polling locations on Tuesday, March 1, 2022, the day of the state’s joint (Democrat and Republican) primary election, on all its services.

People News: DART, HDR, New York MTA, RATP Dev USA, WSP USA

Dallas Area Rapid Transit (DART); consultancy HDR; New York Metropolitan Transportation Authority (MTA); transit system manager and operator RATP Dev USA and WSP USA have appointed new executives.

The Santa Clara VTA has released a Request for Proposals to hire a consultant “to aid the agency in making significant and meaningful changes in the organizational culture and climate,” the agency reported.

Transit Briefs: Miami Metromover; Santa Clara VTA; TRE

L.K. Comstock National Transit will work with Alstom on a four-year project to upgrade the Miami Metromover. In addition, the Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority (VTA) will hire a consultant to help “transform the workplace environment”; and Dallas’ Trinity Railway Express (TRE) turns 25 on Dec. 30.