FY24 Appropriations Process Look-Ahead

When Congress returns from their August recess, they will have their hands full with the FY 2024 Appropriations process. With the end of the fiscal year quickly approaching on Sept. 30 and bills still moving through the committee process in both bodies, a Continuing Resolution will certainly be necessary to avoid any disruptions in government programs and funding.

BNSF's Dr. Zabih Ghelichi (right), pictured with Amanda Mewborn, IISE President and Vice President for Atrium Health.
  • News

People News: NS, BNSF, Princeton Consultants, CRC

Norfolk Southern (NS) promotes Joe Gioe to Vice President. Also, Dr. Zabih Ghelichi, Senior Operations Research and Advanced Specialist at BNSF receives the 2023 Pritsker Doctoral Dissertation Award from the Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers (IISE); Keith Dierkx joins Princeton Consultants as Principal; and members of the Commuter Rail Coalition (CRC) elect leadership slate.

(Photograph Courtesy of Metra, via Twitter)

Save the Date: 2023 CRC Summit

The Commuter Rail Coalition (CRC) on Sept. 18-20, 2023 is holding its second-annual summit in Chicago to “prepare for the challenges and the unprecedented opportunities awaiting commuter railroads.”

FRA Issues Final Rule on Fatigue Risk Management (UPDATED)

The Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) on June 13 published in the Federal Register a final rule on “Fatigue Risk Management Programs for Certain Passenger and Freight Railroads.” The Commuter Rail Coalition (CRC) and Transportation Trades Department, AFL-CIO (TTD) respond.

The Commuter Rail Coalition (CRC) recently celebrated its second anniversary. Among its leaders are Executive Director KellyAnne Gallagher and Chair Jim Derwinski (CEO, Chicago’s Metra).

CRC Elects Board Members, Marks Second Anniversary

The Commuter Rail Coalition (CRC) has elected Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority General Manager Leslie Richards as Secretary of the Board of Directors’ Executive Committee, and Caltrain Acting Executive Director Michelle Bouchard, Virginia Railway Express CEO Rich Dalton and T.Y. Lin International Senior Vice President Joe Yesbeck as Board Members At-Large for 2021-23.