USDOT Appointments Announced

Written by Marybeth Luczak, Executive Editor
image description

The Biden Administration has appointed 39 key members of the U.S. Department of Transportation, with more to come. Among them are Amit Bose, Deputy Administrator of the Federal Railroad Administration (FRA), and Nuria Fernandez, Deputy Administrator of the Federal Transit Administration (FTA). Both have held the positions previously.

Lana Hurdle, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Budget & Programs, is serving as Acting Secretary of Transportation until Secretary-Designate Pete Buttigieg is confirmed. The former Presidential candidate and South Bend, Ind. Mayor was nominated on Dec. 15.

Amit Bose, most recently Associate Vice President and Program Director at consulting firm HNTB, also served FRA as Chief Counsel. He was involved in the Northeast Corridor Gateway Program, California High Speed Rail Project, Northeast Corridor Future, Southeast Passenger Rail and Build America Bureau.

“Amit Bose will be a great addition to the Federal Railroad Administration,” Amtrak Board Chair Tony Coscia said in a statement. “His extensive experience in transportation policy, law and management will be an asset to the Biden Administration. Mr. Bose understands the importance of investing in infrastructure to support economic recovery and keeping America’s railroad system reliable and safe. We look forward to working with Secretary designee Pete Buttigieg, Deputy Secretary designee Polly Trottenberg and Mr. Bose to improve and expand passenger rail service across the country.”

Railway Age reported on Jan. 20 that Nuria Fernandez stepped down as General Manager/CEO of Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority (VTA) to move to DOT, but her new position was unknown. She has more than 25 years of transportation experience, holding leadership positions at New York Metropolitan Transportation Authority, Chicago Transit Authority, and Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority, among other agencies.

Other appointees who will work with the rail industry are Casey Clemmons, Special Assistant, Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration; Subash Iyer, Chief Counsel, FTA; and Diana Lopez, Senior Advisor to the Administrator, FRA.

The other new DOT members are:

•  Ann Carlson, Chief Counsel, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)

Florence Chen, Special Assistant for Policy

Steve Cliff, Deputy Administrator, NHTSA

• Christopher Coes, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Transportation Policy

• Robert Hampshire, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Research and Technology

Maurice Henderson, Senior Advisor

• Danielle Hirshberg, Deputy Chief of Staff for Operations

Justine Hong, Director of Executive Secretariat

Robin Hutcheson, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Safety Policy

Meera Joshi, Deputy Administrator, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration

• Tatjana Kunz, Special Assistant for Policy

• Lucinda Lessley, Deputy Administrator, Maritime Administration

Irene Marion, Director, Departmental Office of Civil Rights

Edward McGlone, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Congressional Affairs (House)

Philip A. McNamara, Assistant Secretary for Administration

• A. Bradley Mims, Deputy Administrator, Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)

• Carlos Monje Jr., Senior Advisor and Acting Chief of Staff

• Allie Panther, White House Liaison

• Alex A. Peña, Special Assistant to the General Counsel

Carol A. (Annie) Petsonk, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Aviation and International Affairs

• Stephanie Pollack, Deputy Administrator, Federal Highway Administration (FHWA)

John Putnam, Deputy General Counsel

Will Rasky, Special Assistant for Governmental Affairs

• Courtenay Raymond, Director of Scheduling and Advance

Andrew Rogers, Chief Counsel, FHWA

Laura Schiller, Chief of Staff

Michael Shapiro, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Economic Policy

• Sophie Shulman, Deputy Chief of Staff for Policy

• Dani Simons, Assistant to the Secretary and Director of Public Affairs

• Charles Small, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Intergovernmental Affairs

Mohsin Syed, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Congressional Affairs (Senate)

Charlene Wang, Special Assistant, FHWA

• Victoria Baecher Wassmer, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Finance and Budget

• Vinn White, Senior Advisor for Implementation

Laurence Wildgoose, Assistant Administrator for Policy, International Affairs, and Environment, FAA

“This experienced team looks forward to getting right to work on behalf of the American people to deliver on policies and projects that will create jobs, equitably serve all Americans, and meet the climate crisis,” said Carlos Monje Jr., Senior Advisor to the Secretary and acting Chief of Staff. “President Biden has been clear: stronger infrastructure is a key to building our country back better than it was before.”

Tags: , , ,