LRW Accepting 2019 Outstanding Member of the Year Nominations

Written by William C. Vantuono, Editor-in-Chief
image description

The League of Railway Women (LRW) has opened nominations for the 2019 “Outstanding Member of the Year” award. The recipient will be recognized during the LRW Annual Membership Meeting to be held on Tuesday, Sept. 24 at Railway Interchange in Minneapolis. LRW corporate partners and individual members are eligible.

LRW said the organization “has proudly recognized the contributions of our members through this award for more than 21 years and has acknowledged 24 women to date who have demonstrated a passion for the rail industry, dedication to leading and supporting the personal and professional growth of women in rail, and have been committed supporters of the organization.”

Nomination criteria and the online nomination survey are available on the LRW website,, until Aug. 23.

Emilia Marceta, Project Manager, Signals & Communications, Network Infrastructure at Metrolinx and 2018 Outstanding Member of the Year Award recipient said, “I am very proud to be a part of the League of Railway Women and am grateful to the organization for giving me many great opportunities and lifelong friendships that have enhanced both my professional and personal life.”

“This is an important award for our organization. It acknowledges the significance of the LRW membership and efforts of individual and corporate partners. The success of LRW lies within fulfilling our mission, to connect and cultivate women in rail, and that cannot be achieved without our members,” said Lisa Tackach, LRW Awards Chair.

“Each year, LRW accomplishes more, resulting in additional members and becoming better represented in the industry. We wouldn’t be able to achieve this without the hard work and dedication of our members. Behind the scenes we have a lot going on—everything from planning our Annual Conference at Railway Interchange to putting on educational webinars to maintaining our new website—countless hours are invested into these and many other activities by our members who volunteer their time and resources, all for the benefit of our members. It is the synergy that is propelling us into the future, and we are so proud to honor our champions who go above and beyond for LRW,” said Tanis Peterson, LRW President.

In addition to Marceta, past award recipients include GE Transportation’s Kathee Fisk (2017), L.B. Foster Rail Technologies Corp.’s Claire Tomlinson (2016), Independent Media Consultant Carol Steckbeck (2015), Railway Supply Institute’s Amanda Patrick (2014), and GE Transportation’s Kaleigh Reyes (2013).

Founded in 1997, the League of Railway Women “is committed to improving the railroad industry by connecting and cultivating women in rail. Our mission is to advance the representation, recognition and opportunities for women, thereby promoting diversity and improving the business results of the railroad industry. Learn more at; follow the LRW on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Instagram.

Categories: Class I, Commuter/Regional, Finance/Leasing, Freight, Freight Cars, High Performance, Intercity, Light Rail, Locomotives, M/W, Mechanical, News, Passenger, Railway Interchange, Rapid Transit, Regulatory, Safety, Short Lines & Regionals, Switching & Terminal Tags: , ,