Amtrak President and CEO Joe Boardman named Railroader of the Year

Written by William C. Vantuono, Editor-in-Chief

December 9, 2013: Joseph H. Boardman, President and Chief Executive Officer of Amtrak, has been named 2014 Railroader of the Year by railroad industry trade journal Railway Age.

“Joe Boardman, who came to Amtrak after his tenure as Federal Railroad Administrator, has been chief executive for the past five years, far longer than any of his post-Graham Claytor predecessors,” said Railway Age Editor-in-Chief William C. Vantuono. “Under his watch, Amtrak has posted record ridership and revenues, ordered a new fleet of electric locomotives for the Northeast Corridor and new single-level long-distance cars, developed a long-term strategy for additional new rolling stock acquisitions, and is effectively administering major capital programs. Boardman has a sustainable vision for the future of U.S. intercity passenger rail, which includes higher-speed services. As such, he is a deserving recipient of our Railroader of the Year award.”

“My selection for this award is really a tribute to the men and women of Amtrak who are transforming our business culture, improving our customer service, enhancing our safety and security, planning for our future, and strengthening our focus on the bottom line,” said Boardman. “We are accomplishing a great many things and I am proud of all Amtrak employees in helping to make it happen.”

Joe Boardman is Railway Age’s 51st Railroader of the Year. He is the first Amtrak chief executive since the legendary W. Graham Claytor Jr. in 1989 to be named Railroader of the Year. Modern Railroads magazine founded the award, one of the most prestigious in the railroad industry, in 1964 as the “Man of the Year.” Railway Age acquired Modern Railroads in 1991 and has presented the award annually since then. Boardman will be honored on March 11, 2014, at Chicago’s Union League Club. Railway Age will tell the story of Joe Boardman and the organization he leads at Amtrak with a cover story in the magazine’s January 2014 issue, which will also be available online at with video highlights, and in the magazine’s January digital edition.

About Amtrak

Amtrak is America’s Railroad®, the nation’s intercity passenger rail service and its high-speed rail operator. Amtrak and its state and commuter partners move people, the economy, and the nation forward. Formally known as the National Railroad Passenger Corporation, Amtrak is governed by a nine-member board of directors appointed by the President of the United States and confirmed by the U.S. Senate. Anthony R. Coscia is board chairman and Jeffrey R. Moreland is vice chairman. In FY 2013, a record 31.6 million passengers traveled on Amtrak on more than 300 daily trains—at speeds up to 150 mph (241 kph)—that connect 46 states, the District of Columbia, and three Canadian Provinces. Enjoy the Journey® at or call 800-USA-RAIL for schedules, fares, and more information. Like us on Facebook, Follow us on Twitter (@Amtrak), and check out our blog at

About Railway Age

Railway Age ( is a monthly trade magazine circulated at the management levels of North American freight and passenger railroads. Founded in Chicago, Ill., in 1856, it is the transportation industry’s longest-running trade publication. Railway Age is published by the Simmons-Boardman Publishing Corp., New York, N.Y.


Railway Age: William C. Vantuono, 212-620-7240, [email protected]; Amtrak: Steve Kulm, 202-906-3730, [email protected]

Supplemental information:

Railroader of the Year recipients under Modern Railroads:

1964: D. W. Brosnan, Southern Railway System

1965: Stuart T. Saunders, Pennsylvania Railroad Co.

1966: Stuart T. Saunders, Pennsylvania Railroad Co.

1967: Louis W. Menk, Northern Pacific Railway

1968: William B. Johnson, Illinois Central Railroad

1969: John W. Barriger, Missouri-Kansas-Texas Railroad

1970: John S. Reed, Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway

1971: Jervis Langdon, Jr., Penn Central Transportation Co.

1972: Charles Luna, United Transportation Union

1973: James B. Germany, Southern Pacific Transportation Co.

1974: L. Stanley Crane, Southern Railway System

1975: Frank E. Barnett, Union Pacific Railroad

1976: Dr. William J. Harris, Jr., Association of American Railroads

1977: Edward G. Jordan, Conrail

1978: Robert M. Brown, Union Pacific Railroad

1979: Theodore C. Lutz, Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority

1980: John G. German, Missouri Pacific Railroad Co.

1981: Lawrence Cena, Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway

1982: A. Paul Funkhouser, Family Lines Rail System

1983: L. Stanley Crane, Conrail

1984: Hays T. Watkins, CSX Corp.

1985: John L. Cann, Canadian National

1986: Raymond C. Burton, Jr., Trailer Train Co.

1987: Willis B. Kyle, Kyle Railways

1988: Darius W. Gaskins, Jr., Burlington Northern

1989: W. Graham Claytor, Jr., Amtrak

1990: Arnold B. McKinnon, Norfolk Southern

1991: Mike Walsh, Union Pacific Railroad

Recipients under Railway Age:

1992: William H. Dempsey, Association of American Railroads

1993: Raymond C. Burton, Jr., TTX Co.

1994: L. S. “Jake” Jacobson, Copper Basin Railway

1995: Edwin Moyers, Southern Pacific Transportation Co.

1996: Robert D. Krebs, AT&SF, and Gerald Grinstein, Burlington Northern

1997: Paul M. Tellier, Canadian National

1998: David R. Goode, Norfolk Southern Corp.

1999: Edward A. Burkhardt, Wisconsin Central Transportation Co.

2000: The Railroad Worker (award presented as “Railroader of the Century”)

2001: Michael R. Haverty, Kansas City Southern

2002: E. Hunter Harrison, Canadian National/Illinois Central

2003: Richard K. Davidson, Union Pacific Railroad

2004: Robert J. Ritchie, Canadian Pacific Railway

2005: David R. Goode, Norfolk Southern Corp.

2006: Richard F. Timmons, American Short Line & Regional Railroad Association

2007: William E. Wimmer, Union Pacific Railroad

2008: Stephen C. Tobias, Norfolk Southern Corp.

2009: Michael J. Ward, CSX Corp.

2010: Matthew K. Rose, BNSF Railway

2011: Charles W. “Wick” Moorman, Norfolk Southern Corp.

2012: David L. Starling, Kansas City Southern

2013: James R. Young, Union Pacific Railroad

2014: Joseph H. Boardman, Amtrak

Tags: , , , , , ,