Keolis Awards $25K in Scholarships

Written by Andrew Corselli
image description

Keolis Commuter Services (Keolis), the MBTA’s operating partner for Commuter Rail, recently awarded $25,000 to 25 local students as part of the 2019 Keolis Scholars program.

The students hail from Boston, Brockton, Lawrence, Lynn and Worcester, and will use the $1,000 gift to help pay for post-secondary education or job training. Since the program began in 2016, the total amount of scholarship money awarded has reached $100,000 for 100 students, with 60% of those students pursuing degrees in a STEM field (science, technology, engineering and math).

The scholarship awards are announced as Massachusetts celebrates STEM Week. Organized by the Executive Office of Education, it’s a statewide effort to boost the interest, awareness and ability for all learners to envision themselves in STEM education and employment opportunities.

Keolis works with city and school districts with large populations of under-served communities and first-generation families to select Keolis Scholars and distribute awards, which were based on both merit and financial need. All of the 2019 Keolis Scholars will be attending programs, colleges and universities in the New England region.

Below are the names of the 2019 Keolis Scholars, along with their declared school and intended major.


Regina Charles, Nursing, University of Massachusetts Boston

Ngan Kim Ly, Pre-Med, Mass. College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences

Jessica Pelaez, Environmental Science, Boston College

Nina To, Biology/ Forensic Pathology, Northeastern University

Vivian Whetstone, Biomedical Engineering, University of Connecticut


Miladi Teo Najera, Nursing/ Biotech Research, Boston College

William Trinidad, Electrical Engineering, University of Massachusetts Lowell

Nicholas Trunfio, Computer Science, University of Massachusetts Lowell

Connor Sullivan, Chemistry, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth

Kayla Vega, Biomedical Engineering, Worcester Polytech


Barbara Batista, Biology/Animal Science, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Elivianna De Jesus, Political Science, University of Massachusetts Lowell

Jaythian Lopez, Autobody, Nashua Community College

Alexa Pagan, Communications, Simmons College

Anderson Santos, Math, Northern Essex Community College


Dashon Jones, Aerospace Engineering, University of Massachusetts Lowell

Christopher Navleris, Auto Technology, Benjamin Franklin Institute of Technology

Remm Mejdi, Biology, University of Massachusetts Boston

Jamal Rashid, Computer Technology, University of Massachusetts Lowell

(Fifth student pending selection by Lynn education officials)


Robert Jackson, Broadcasting, Fitchburg State University

Jonny Le, Biochemistry, Northeastern University

Maryssa Leone, Engineering, Quinsigamond Community College

Tu Nguyen, University of Massachusetts Boston

Ohemaa Prempah, Computer Science, University of Massachusetts Amherst

“At Keolis, we are all extremely proud of our Keolis Scholars and the opportunity to support their college education and workforce training,” said David Scorey, Keolis GM and CEO. “Part of our corporate mission is to help strengthen the communities we serve not only with climate-friendly transit but also the people and organizations within our network. I can’t think of a better way to do that than supporting students and their education and encouraging them to enter a STEM field.”

Categories: Commuter/Regional, News, Passenger Tags: , ,