LRIW honors TTCI’s Stabler

Written by William C. Vantuono, Editor-in-Chief

INDIANAPOLIS: The League of Railway Industry Women (LRIW) named Transportation Technology Center, Inc. (TTCI) President Lisa Stabler as 2017 Outstanding Woman of the Year. Stabler was honored at the General Session of Railway Interchange.

The annual award is presented to a woman in the rail industry “who demonstrates vision, initiative, creativity and guidance in a leadership role within her professional railway field; is innovative, a problem-solver and overcomes challenges; and brings consistent excellence to her organization and surrounding community,” LRIW said.

Stabler became President of TTCI in 2011 after joining the organization in 2010 as Vice President Operations and Training. She previously was Assistant Vice President Quality and Engineering at BNSF, where she “improved quality, advanced research and streamlined processes using the Six Sigma problem-solving method,” LRIW noted. Earlier in her career, Stabler held key roles at General Motors subsidiary Delphi Corp. in product engineering, quality assurance and strategic planning. She earned a bachelor of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Dayton and holds a masters degree of Science in Mathematics from Wright State University.

Stabler recently received media attention for her expertise. A July 2017 Today Show segment on railroad safety featured her demonstrating TTCI’s groundbreaking research into wheel defect detection.

In nominating Stabler, Association of American Railroads President and CEO Ed Hamberger said, “Lisa commands attention and respect from the AAR Board of Directors, the federal government, elected officials and the public at large.”

“Our Outstanding Woman of the Year award exemplifies excellence in the rail industry by recognizing a woman who is considered a leader by her peers,” said LRIW President Jodi Heldt. “Lisa Stabler is a gifted engineer who has been a rail industry leader throughout her career. Her contributions to the industry in her role as TTCI President have impacted railroading across the U.S. and the globe. Under her command, the world’s premier research and testing facility continues to advance the science of railroading and improve operational safety and efficiency. We are proud to present her with this year’s Outstanding Woman of the Year award.”

Past LRIW Outstanding Woman of the Year winners include MTA Metro-North Railroad’s Anamaria Bonilla, Metrolinx’s Mary Proc, Alaska Railroad Corp.’s Wendy Lindskoog, and Norfolk Southern’s Deb Butler.

A call for nominations for the 2018 LRIW Outstanding Woman of the Year award will open in the spring of 2018.

Founded in 1997, the League of Railway Industry Women describes itself as “dedicated to providing leadership and support for the personal and professional development of women at every level in their railroading careers and railway-related business endeavors. Its mission is to create a forum within the rail industry that provides women with the opportunity to achieve a broader understanding of the railroad business.” 





Tags: , , , , ,