CSX Earns Award for Emissions Reduction Program

Written by Marybeth Luczak, Executive Editor
image description

The Center for Climate and Energy Solutions (C2ES) and The Climate Registry have recognized CSX with a 2021 Climate Leadership Award.

The 10th annual awards were presented to CSX and 24 other organizations and individuals on Oct. 14 at the 2021 Climate Leadership Conference. They recognize “exemplary corporate, organizational and individual leadership in reducing carbon pollution and addressing climate change in operations and strategies,” according to C2ES and The Climate Registry, the conference organizers.

Specifically, CSX received the award in the goal-setting category for its commitment to reducing greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions. C2ES and The Climate Registry cited CSX’s goal to reduce Scope 1 and 2 emissions intensity by 37.3% from 2014-29, which equates to an absolute emissions reduction of 2.5% annually. This goal is in alignment with the Paris Agreement and was validated by the Science Based Target Initiative (SBTi) in 2020, according to the Class I railroad. CSX was also cited for “prioritizing the fuel efficiencies, technologies and operating principles that promote efficient freight transportation,” and for the “continuous monitoring of fuel conservation performance and employee training to support real-time train crew responses to alerts.”

“CSX is proud to receive this recognition, which is a testament to the commitment of our leadership, the knowledge and skill of our environmental team, and the daily implementation of our emission reduction strategies by railroaders across the company,” said Raghu Chatrathi, CSX Senior Director of Public Safety, Health and Environment.

(In related news, CSX in July released its environmental, social and governance report for 2020, covering sustainability performance in the areas of safety, people and communities, environment, and governance.)

Among the other award winners:

Organizational Leadership (Large and Mid-size)
• Entergy Corporation
• Microsoft
• United Airlines

Individual Leadership
• Leo Denault, Entergy Corporation
• Paula Gold-Williams, CPS Energy
• Keith Kerman, NYC Fleet, Department of Citywide Administrative Services (DCAS)
• Celine Ramstein, World Bank Group
• Michel Vounatsos, Biogen
• Dawn Weisz, MCE

Goal Achievement
• Bank of America
• Kimberly-Clark
• Pitney Bowes
• Wells Fargo

Goal Setting
• BMO Harris Bank
• NRG Energy

Innovative Partnership Certificate
• Chicago Regional Climate Action Planning Partnership
• Los Angeles 100% Renewable Energy Study (LA100)
• Teaching Climate Change in California
• U.S. Climate Alliance
• Volvo LIGHTS Project

Supply Chain Leadership Award
• Mastercard

Tags: , , , ,