Friday, April 27, 2012

BNSF honors 2011 Employees of the Year

Written by 
  • Print
  • Email

BNSF Railway has honored the accomplishments of its 2011 Safety Employees of the Year, Achievement Award winners, and “Best of the Best” safety team leaders.

Six BNSF employees were honored as Safety Employees of the Year for outstanding contributions in support of an injury- and accident-free workplace: Lanny Billings, locomotive engineer, Spokane, Wash.; Mark Johnson, switchman, Galveston, Tex.; Matt Lehr, switchman, Lincoln, Neb.; Bryant Quick, signal inspector, Alliance, Neb.; Tony Soto, Intermodal clerk, Corwith, Ill.; and Jeremy Trueax, carman, Havre, Mont. Lehr was also named BNSF’s Hammond Award nominee. The Hammond Award is a national award that recognizes an employee’s efforts to improve safety within the rail industry and communities.

“The Employees of the Year awards are designed to recognize employees who demonstrate BNSF’s Vision and Values through their commitment, leadership, and focus on working safely and efficiently to meet our customers’ expectations,” said Matt Rose, BNSF chairman and chief executive officer. “These employees are leading by example, and represent what we are striving to become as a company and a community.”

BNSF presented more than 600 Achievement Awards in 2011. Of these, 111 employees representing 20 different teams and individual achievements were honored as Employees of the Year for a wide range of accomplishments. Best of the Best recognition went to honorees who exhibited exceptional safety performance in leading teams that worked injury-free in 2011.

Get the latest rail news

Rail news and analysis from Railway Age, IRJ and RT&S by email