Monday, April 28, 2014

Deb Miller sworn in as STB member

Written by 
  • Print
  • Email

The Surface Transportation Board said Monday, April 28, 2014, Deb Miller has been sworn in as the board's newest member. Miller's term runs through Dec. 31, 2017.

Ms. Miller was nominated by President Obama on Sept. 25, 2013, and confirmed by the U.S. Senate on April 9. Miller, a Democrat, will serve the seat formerly held by Francis P. Mulvey, whose term expired. She is the STB's 12th member since the agency's inception in 1996.

Ms. Miller most recently served as a senior consultant with Cambridge Systematics, Inc., a firm specializing in transportation planning and policy, primarily for public-sector clients.

From 2003 to 2011, she served as the Secretary of the Kansas Department of Transportation (Kansas DOT), serving under three successive governors of Kansas and becoming the longest-serving Secretary of Transportation in Kansas history. Prior to that, Ms. Miller was a consultant at HNTB.

Active with the Transportation Research Board (TRB), Ms. Miller was a member of the TRB's Executive Committee for five years, including a year serving as chair. She graduated magna cum laude from Kansas State University with a B.S. in Sociology.

Get the latest rail news

Rail news and analysis from Railway Age, IRJ and RT&S by email