Friday, June 25, 2010

Bloomberg BusinessWeek HSR webinar June 29

Written by 

Join Railway Age Editor William C. Vantuono as he leads a live online discussion on high speed rail on Tuesday, June 29, 2010, 1:00 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time (12:00 Central, 10 a.m. Pacific).

“Putting America Back on the Fast Track: The Case for High-Speed Rail,” a free, live video webinar, is sponsored by Siemens Mobility and presented by Bloomberg BusinessWeek. It will examine the state of U.S. transportation infrastructure and how it impacts economic growth and sustainability, urban renewal and job creation, and environmental responsibility and renewable energy. Vantuono leads the discussion and will welcome a distinguished panel of experts including Buddy Dyer, Mayor of Orlando and a leading proponent of Florida’s Orlando-Tampa HSR project; Drew Galloway, Amtrak Assistant Vice President of Policy and Development; and Peter Sklannik, Jr., Assistant Vice President of Planning and Special Projects for Parsons Brinckerhoff, a leading planning, engineering, and program and construction management organization. The panel will discuss the success and adoption of high speed rail in Europe, how high speed (or higher speed) rail offers favorable alternatives to air and highway transportation, and the impact that high speed rail corridors can have on urban and sub-urban areas

Viewers will be able to participate in this live discussion through interactive questions and answers with these industry experts, all from the comfort of their desktop. TalkPoint, a leading provider of webcasting and internet broadcasting solutions, will provide the technology in the broadcast of this free interactive panel discussion.

Register for the webcast by clicking on this link.