Monday, August 19, 2013

RSI announces scholarship recipients

Written by 
  • Print
  • Email

Railway Supply Institute President Tom Simpson announced that the RSI Scholarship Committee has selected 10 students to receive $3,000 scholarships for the 2013/2014 academic year.

Two of this year's scholarships are sponsored by the Mechanical Association Railcar Technical Services (MARTS), Simpson noted.

"Each year the RSI Scholarship Committee awards a minimum of four scholarships to children of members of RSI or our affiliates, the Coordinated Mechanical Associations," said Simpson.

"This year we had 10 outstanding applicants," Simpson continued. "Thanks to donations from MARTS and other RSI member contributions, we were able to offer scholarships to all of these students to help them defray the cost of their education."

The scholarship recipients, their hometowns, colleges, and company affiliations include:

° Susanna Cai, Portland, OR, Duke University, The Greenbrier Companies;

° Angelica Chapman, Hoover, AL, University of Alabama, The Greenbrier Companies;

° Anthony DeVito, Gilbertsville, PA, Penn State University, USSC Group;

° Jennifer Hermenet, Grand Rapids, MI, Hope College, MAHLE Behr Industry;

° Crystaline Hoover, Mt. Prospect, IL, Beloit College, Union Tank Car Company (UTLX);

° Ryan Johnson, Kansas City, MO, University of Missouri, Orr Safety;

° Kevin Li, Pueblo, CO, Yale, Transportation Technology Center, Inc. (MARTS Scholarship);

° Daniel Olvera Lopez, Ciudad Sahagún, Hidalgo, Mexico, Eastern Technological Institute of the State of Hidalgo, The Greenbrier Companies;

° Rene Smith, Buchanan, VA, Graham White Manufacturing Company (MARTS Scholarship) - Virginia Tech; and

° Hannah Toms, Naperville, IL, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, UTLX.

More information about RSI's scholarship program, including how RSI members can contribute, is available here.

Get the latest rail news

Rail news and analysis from Railway Age, IRJ and RT&S by email