Friday, January 18, 2013

Nominations sought for Railway Age 2013 Shortline/Regional Railroad of the Year

Written by 
  • Print
  • Email
Railway Age is now accepting entries for its annual Short Line/Regional Railroad of the Year competition. Short lines and regionals—and there are more than 500 of them—are invited to submit entries describing outstanding achievement in one or a combination of areas.

"More short line and regional railroads are making themselves known to their local businesses, local chambers of commerce, and the general public as well, because they contribute to the economic vitality of their local and regional economies," says Managing Editor Douglas John Bowen. "The nation's economy is slowly recovering, and small railroads have done their part and then some. But in good years or bad, short lines and regional railroads are innovators when it comes to turnaround situations, consistent excellence, streamlined operations, efficient maintenance, marketing, customer service, enhanced productivity, community relations, and safety improvement. And, ahead of so many other industrial sectors, a railroad's 'green' advantage gives short lines and regional railroads alike an additional marketing edge that only grows in importance as we move deeper into the 21st century."

Small roads in Mexico, the U.S., and Canada are eligible for an award (and railroads can even nominate themselves). Our 2013 winners will be awarded specially designed plaques at the American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association Annual Convention in Atlanta, Ga., at the ASLRRA luncheon on Tuesday, April 30. Articles describing their achievements will appear in Railway Age's April 2013 issue, which will be distributed at the show. We'll work with the winners to publicize the awards in online and national media, as well as any in-house websites available.

"Award winners have ranged from large regionals to small short lines," says Bowen. "And in most years, including in 2012, separate awards have been given for regional and short line carriers."

Submit your entries to: Douglas John Bowen, Managing Editor, Railway Age, 55 Broad Street, 26th floor, New York, NY 10004. (Please note the new mailing address.) E-mail: Fax: (212) 633-1863. Entries should contain the name, position, and contact information of the nominator and an approximately 500-word description of the achievement(s) of the nominated railroad. (Longer and short descriptions are admissible; 500 words is only a guideline.) Entry forms are not essential, but may be obtained from Bowen by fax or e-mail.

The entry deadline is Friday, March 1, 2013, so please don't delay.

Get the latest rail news

Rail news and analysis from Railway Age, IRJ and RT&S by email