Wednesday, February 12, 2014

Deadline nears for ASLRRA award nominations

Written by 
  • Print
  • Email

Nominations are still being accepted for the American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association (ASLRRA) 2014 awards honoring marketing, safety, and improvement – but the deadline of Friday, Feb. 14, 2014, is near.

The annual ASLRRA awards include: the Marketing Award; the Safety Person of the Year Award; the Safety Professional of the Year Award; and the Most Improved Railroad Safety Award.

ASLRRA notes the Marketing Awards Competition "aims to recognize the Class II or III railroads that have designed and enacted the most innovative and successful marketing initiatives in the small railroad industry. All ASLRRA member railroads are eligible to enter the Competition."

The Safety Person of the Year Award "may be given to an employee of an ASLRRA member railroad employee, except those considered to be a professional safety management employee, who has never had a reportable injury in their career; works with management of their company to make their safety programs effective; exhibits a high degree of safety awareness; and contributes off-duty time to activities promoting safety awareness in the community," ASLRRA says.

The Safety Professional of the Year Award "may be given to an railroad management employee of an ASLRRA member railroad, who is responsible for safety programs, training and the overall management of safe behavior and actions on their railroad, who is an excellent communicator, motivator, and organizer; is selfless in their actions, doing the job for results, not recognition; consistently produces documentable safety achievements; and is respected by peers, senior management and subordinate alike," says ASLRRA.

Finally, the Most Improved Railroad Safety Award will be given to an ASLRRA member railroad "that demonstrates improved safety over a period of at least three years, as verified by FRA safety rates; provides evidence of implementation of programs, processes and procedures that have resulted in a marked improvement in safety; and provides evidence of the capital (i.e. manpower, funding and other resources) that has been devoted to improving safety."

ASLRRA traditionally bestows its awards at its annual convention, scheduled to occur this year on April 22-25 at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront in San Diego. Railway Age will present its own awards for 2014 Short Line Railroad of the Year and 2014 Regional Railroad of the Year at the ASLRRA gathering.

For more information on ASLRRA's Marketing Award, contact ASLRRA's Jenny Bourque, Tel.: 202-585-3449; Email: For more information on ASLRRA's Safety Awards, contact ASLRRA's David Whorton, Tel.: 202-585-3430; Email:

Get the latest rail news

Rail news and analysis from Railway Age, IRJ and RT&S by email