Friday, March 21, 2014

ASLRRA announces 2013 Safety Award recipients

Written by  William C. Vantuono, Editor-in-Chief
  • Print
  • Email
Most hours of injury-free operation: Pacific Harbor Line Most hours of injury-free operation: Pacific Harbor Line
The American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association has announced the winners of its 2013 Safety Awards.

“These awards—Safety Person of the Year, Safety Professional of the Year, Most Improved Award, the President’s Awards, Jake Awards with Distinction, and Jake Awards—have been made possible through the generous sponsorship of the ASLRRA Safety Awards Program by our Safety Awards Program Sponsors,” ASLRRA said. “The Safety Program enables ASLRRA to recognize the continued efforts of our members to maintain a high level of safety.”

“2013 was a successful year from a safety standpoint for ASLRRA member railroads,” ASLRRA noted. “Two-hundred ninety-five railroad members earned Jake Awards with Distinction for reaching the ultimate goal of achieving a 0.00 FSI* (Frequency/Severity Index) for the entire year. Twenty-eight additional railroads received Jake Awards for having an injury rate lower than the industry average of 2.42.”

Safety Person of the Year: Ozzie España, Pacific Harbor Line.

Safety Professional of the Year: Thomas A. Leopold CSP, Anacostia Rail Holdings.

Most Improved Safety Record: Northern Plains Railroad, Inc.

President’s Awards

For the most hours of injury-free operation: Pacific Harbor Line.

For maintaining the best safety rate in the following categories:

500,000 or more man-hours worked: Union Railroad Company.

250,000 to 500,000 man-hours worked: Pacific Harbor Line.

150,000 to 250,000 man-hours worked: Missouri & Northern Arkansas Railroad Co.

50,000 to 150,000 man-hours worked: Ohio Central Railroad Company.

Less than 50,000 man-hours worked: Minnesota, Dakota & Western Railway Co.

To view a list of all safety award winners, click here.

Sponsors of the 2013 ASLRRA Safety Awards Program:

• Titanium Level: Genesee & Wyoming Inc., Greenville & Western Railway Company, LLC, NARS/National Academy of Railroad Sciences, OmniTRAX, Inc., Zurich.

• Steel Level: Aiken Railway Company, LLC, Georgetown Rail Equipment Company, MaxAccel, Rio Grande Pacific Corporation, Watco Companies LLC.

• Iron Level: Adrian & Blissfield Rail Road Company, Indiana Harbor Belt Railroad Co., Liberty International Underwriters.

* The Frequency/Severity Index is a method of weighing injuries based on their severity. A serious injury counts the same as 25 non-serious injuries, and a fatality counts the same as 50 non-serious injuries.

Get the latest rail news

Rail news and analysis from Railway Age, IRJ and RT&S by email